“OLD ROCK AND ROLLER”

Hello, This is different from my other blogs in that this is a recollection of thoughts and memories of growing up in the ’50s and ’60s.  I hope you like it.

                                                        “OLD ROCK AND ROLLER”

I’m an old rock and roller it’s true but I remember when it was new.  From my D A haircut to my blue suede shoes, I’m an old rock and roller, are you?

I remember when Elvis became the king, we all tried to imitate him, he told us ’bout Heartbreak Hotel, rock was young, all was well.

Chuck was goin’ to school and Johnny B. Goode, man he was cool.  Fats was there on Blueberry Hill, thinking ’bout those days still gives me a thrill.

Bobby was Splishin’ and Splashin’ and having a ball, while Charlie Brown was clowin’ out in the hall.  Buddy was there with Peggy Sue while Eddy was singin’ ’bout the Summertime Blues.

I’m an old rock and roller it’s true but I remember when it was new.  Johnny was just walkin’ the line while Jimmie was tasting kisses sweeter than wine.

I remember the day Buddy Holly died with Ritchie Valens and the Big Bopper by his side.  There were tears on my pillow when they passed away, seems I grew older by the end of the day.

The kids on Bandstand were having a blast, the older folks said this rock and roll just won’t last, but after all these years I’m proud to say, that rock and roll is here to stay.

Freddy took us to Palisades Park, where we rode the rides till way after dark and when Bobby sang Kissin’ Time he was giving us our cue, I remember it so well, do you?

I was twistin’ at the hop with all the girls and guys, after the hop we’d all go for burgers and fries.  Put a dime in the jukebox, the place would start to rock and we’d keep rockin’ around the clock.

If I could go back and do it all over again, you know I wouldn’t change a thing, but memories being a part of your past are frozen in time to make them last.

I’m an old rock and roller it’s true but I remember when it was new.  The songs and the time are still locked in my mind, I’m an old rock and roller are you?

Till the next time—Joe

6 thoughts on ““OLD ROCK AND ROLLER”

  1. Well Joe, I’m much younger than you,
    but I sure do remember those blue suede shoes,
    I remember Elvis, Buddy and Everly Brothers,
    The Cleftones, Del Vikings and so many others.
    There was Johnny Tillotson,
    Fabian , Ricky and Frankie Avalon,
    Connie Francis, Pat Boone we loved them all,
    How high the moon, Blue moon and of course there’s Little Star,
    A thousand stars in the sky, I’ve told every little star, can’t forget Telstar
    There was Sherry, Dawn, Marianne,and Ronnie
    Diana, Linda and O Connie
    There were Duprees and The Elegants The Tokens and Flamingos
    The Stereos, The Crests, Coasters and The Moonglows
    Bill Haley and His Comets, Skyliners and Lou Christie
    Marcels, Diamonds, Crystals in Rock n’ Roll His’try
    The stroll, the twist, the fly, and the pony
    Mabeline, Tutti frutti and Boney Maroni
    LaVern Baker, Leslie Gore and The Shirelles
    Impalas, Cadillacs and of course “BOBBY RYDELL”

    Laurel, Helene, Janice, Rose and Joe
    Last on this list is the Best
    Our Love for Him made us friends
    Above all of the rest
    Volare, Forget him, and then there’s Swingin School
    Wildwood Days, and I dig girls of course were really Cool
    We got Love , I’d do it again and Sway, la la la la
    Kissin time, Let’s make love tonite and Do the cha cha cha
    He is the Best above the rest
    Of course you know it’s true
    We “Rydellettes” are a loyal bunch
    Oh Bobby We love You!

  2. Joe, I loved your poem. I’ve been following you for a couple years now. I have a Facebook fan page called “Legends of Rock & Roll”. I wonder if you would give me permission to quote your poem on the fan page. I would, of course, give you credit and link back to this page. I think the people who read my page would enjoy it as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

