RANDY & THE RAINBOWS–“DENISE”

Denise [Stereo]Kopie_van_Randy_and_the_Rainbows_fHi,  Randy & The Rainbows are a doo-wop group from the Queens, New York.  Members included, Dominick “Randy” Safuto-lead, his brother Frank Safuto, brothers Mike and Sal Zero and Ken Arcipowski.  The group was originally known as Jr. And The Counts.  They formed in 1962 and a year later recorded their biggest hit of all, “DENISE”.

On June 15, 1963 Randy & The Rainbows entered the Billboard Hot 100 with their timeless classic, “Denise” on the Rust Records label.  The record became a big hit nationally, charting at #18 on the R&B chart and #10 on the Hot 100.  “Denise” charted for 17 weeks and was a DJ radio favorite.  The groups follow-up single started off on a roll but soon slowed down, “WHY DO KIDS GROW UP” just broke the Hot 100 at #97.  It was their last Hot 100 hit.

They continued to perform and toured in future years with, The Spinners, Little Anthony & The Imperials, The 4 Seasons and many other top acts.  In 2001 they released a new album, “Play Ball” and appeared on the 2001 PBS special D00-Wop 51.  Turn on your favorite oldies station and your sure to hear Randy & The Rainbows singing “Denise”, this great oldie has continued to be a pop/doo-wop favorite and one of the big hits from the early 1960’s.

Till the next time—Joe

3 thoughts on “RANDY & THE RAINBOWS–“DENISE”

  1. Researching for some information about the song Denise I came across this post on Google. It might be from a while back now, but I found the information helpful and I have included a link in my latest post, as there isn’t much other info on this song. I haven’t had the time since yesterday to read much on your blog, but I will return and read some more, as I may well find other items that I would like to link to in the future.

    My blog is about nostalgic memories of the 60s and 70s mostly, based in the UK, so your historic musical items here could well prove of interest. I will follow too. I am not asking anything of you, but it would be nice to know if you would be happy for me to occasionally link to an item that is related to something I post about, like I have with this song.

    It might interest you to know that my post mentions the fact that a well known animation writer, Mark Evanier, has suggested that the scooby-doo phrase in this song may have been the inspiration for the cartoon character Scooby Doo.

Leave a Reply

