THE CRESCENDOS–“OH JULIE”

Hello,  The Crescendos were a rock and roll group from Nashville, Tennessee.  They formed in 1957, members included cousins George Lanius and James Lanius, other members were, Ken Brigham, Tom Fortner and Jim Hall. 

In January of 1958 The Crescendos charted their big hit,  OH JULIE on Nasco Records.  Their record became a huge hit charting at #5 on the Billboard Top 100 chart and #4 on the Billboard R&B chart.  The record sold over one million copies and was awarded a “Gold Record”.  OH JULIE featured the beautiful backing vocals of Janice Green, who happened to be auditioning at the recording studio where the single was recorded.  The “B” side of the single record is  MY LITTLE GIRL, it did not chart.

The Crescendos recorded two more singles for Nasco Records, but they did not chart.  The group disbanded in 1959.  Their one big hit is still popular on oldies radio and is one of the biggest hits from the early days of rock and roll.  OH JULIE, the million seller from 1958 has its special place in the “Golden Era Of Rock And Roll”.

Till the next time—Joe

15 thoughts on “THE CRESCENDOS–“OH JULIE”

  1. Hey Joe. Anyway you can tell me how to get the Crescendos comp cd? Apparently there was a 1997 cd on Ace called Oh Julie Featuring the Crescendos, but I cant find it out there anywhere. Any help on this one? Thanks!

  2. Hi, I loved the song Oh Julie by The Crescendos. I had the 45 of it and unfortunately it got broken when I was little. I found it and bought it again. I even named my cat Julie after that song.

  3. My name is James (Jimmy) Lanius, one of the 1957-58 Crescendos and it’s great to know that Oh Julie is still being played by DJ’s and enjoyed by all you “real music lovers) out there. I still enjoy hearing all the 50’s songs again and again. I don’t use the computer that much but was “browsing away” and happened to run across this site.

    • Hi Jim..OH JULIE…IS A CLASSIC…I PLAY IT ON MY RADIO SHOW AND THE TUNE STILL SOUNDS GREAT AFTER ALL THIS TIME. ARE YOU STILL PERFORMING? LET ME KNOW, MAYBE WE CAN GET TOGETHER FOR AN INTERVIEW…Thanks, JoeT

    • I’m 58 years old. As a small child I had the 45. I was mezmorized by the b-side “My Little Girl” Must have played it a 1000 times back then! Still my all time favorite piano solo!

    • I’m Leah, I have loved Oh Julie since I was a little girl. My Black cat was named Julie after that song. I had her for 16 years then lost her in 2003. I have a new one I got right after losing her I named her Julie also. She is almost 11 years old now.

Leave a Reply

