Hello,  I’ve been a DJ now for nearly 40 years, Wow!!! how the time has flown bye. Many years ago a Syracuse DJ Jim Tate, gave me a nickname that has stayed with me all these years, “Dr. Doo_Wop”, a name I am proud to also be known as.  One question I am often asked is, “what is doo-wop music”?, “what does it sound like”?  Well, you know, most of us who listen to oldies music from the 1950s and early 1960s can rattle off the names of our favorite, “doo-wop” groups or singers, but for those who are just beginning to realize just how good the music of that era is…I have an easy answer to your question.  I’ll put it in three songs…the first one will be a ballad…the most requested doo-wop ballad of all-time…IN THE STILL OF THE NIGHT by THE FIVE SATINS…the second will be an up-tempo tune and one of the best doo-wop, rock tunes of all-time…I WONDER WHY by DION AND THE BELMONTS…the third will be a song that sums up the doo-wop sound, a song that tells the story of so many of the great doo-wop performers of our time…LOOKING FOR AN ECHO by KENNY VANCE AND THE PLANOTONES.

The GOLDEN ERA OF ROCK AND ROLL JUKEBOX below has all three songs…give them a listen…I know you will enjoy these three great “Doo-Wop” classic…want to chat more…send me a message in the comment box…

Till the next time—Joe

Five Satins – In The Still Of The Night – 1956

Dion & The Belmonts – I Wonder Why – 1958

Kenny Vance & The Planotones – Looking For An Echo

