LEE ANDREWS–“I’M SORRY PILLOW” / “GEE BUT I’M LONESOME”

Hi,  Lee Andrews and The Hearts recorded some of the best R&B/Doo-Wop music ever.  Their big hits,  LONG LONELY NIGHTS-1957,  TEAR DROPS-1957 and  TRY THE IMPOSSIBLE-1958 are just a few of the great recordings the Arthur Lee Andrew Thompson and The Hearts recorded through the years.  Lee Andrews was born in 1938 in Gokdsboro, North Carolina and was raised in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  He formed The Hearts in 1952.  Lee Andrews and The Hearts are one of the most recognized vocal groups in doo-wop music.  They have 10 records that are listed by writers Gribin/Schiff in their book, “The Complete Book Of Doo-Wop”, as members of the “Greatest 1,000 Doo-Wop songs of all-time”.

Those songs are: MAYBE YOU’LL BE THERE-1954…BLUEBIRD OF HAPPINESS-1956…LONELY ROOM-1957…LONG LONELY NIGHTS-1957…THE CLOCK-1957…THE GIRL AROUND THE CORNER-1957…TEAR DROPS-1957…WHY DO I-1958…TRY THE IMPOSSIBLE-1958  AND I’M SORRY PILLOW-1963 (Lee Andrews sole credit on the record).

That brings us to  I’M SORRY PILLOW  on Parkway Records in 1963.  The flip side of the 45 is,  GEE BUT I’M LONESOME.  The background group is a combination of The Hears, Rick and The Masters and The Dreamlovers.  The single is from February of 1963…I’M SORRY PILLOW  is Lee Andrews favorite song that he has recorded.  He said this in a concert not long ago when he dedicated the song to his mother.  The record is a classic masterpiece that should have been a Top 10 hit at the least…it is that good.  Who knows why some records chart high and others do not…I’M SORRY PILLOW  and the flip side  GEE BUT I’M LONESOME  did not chart, Ibut I think they deserve a special place on the Doo-Wop Jukebox…after lisening to  I’M SORRY PILLOW  I think you’ll agree that this a “Classic Record”…

CLICK ON THE TITLE BELOW TO ENJOY THE GREAT…LEE ANDREWS…SINGING…”I’M SORRY PILLOW”…ALONG WITH THE FLIP SIDE…”GEE BUT I’M LONESOME” FROM 1963.

I’m Sorry Pillow – 1963

Gee But I’m Lonesome – 1963 Flip side of “I”m Sorry Pillow”

Till the next time—Joe

One thought on “LEE ANDREWS–“I’M SORRY PILLOW” / “GEE BUT I’M LONESOME”

Leave a Reply

