JOHNNY CASH–“GUESS THINGS HAPPEN THAT WAY”–SUN RECORDS 1958

I can still remember the day my father brought a 45 RPM record home from work and handed it to me.  He said that he heard the song and liked it and thought that I would too.  I must say that my dad did not bring records home.  He did not like rock and roll and was always telling me to turn that “crap” down.  The record he brought home was a shinny “Sun Records” single in a picture sleeve…that record was…Johnny Cash singing his current single…”GUESS THINGS HAPPEN THAT WAY / “COME IN STRANGER”.

It was June of 1958 and that single began its climb on the Billboard Top 100 and Billboard C&W charts.  The top side of the single…”GUESS THINGS HAPPEN THAT WAY” (Sun 295) climbed the Top 100 all the way to #11 and remained on the pop chart for 16 weeks.  The single was even bigger on the C&W chart, peaking at #1 and staying at the top of the chart for 8 weeks.  Johnny Cash enjoyed 24 weeks on the C&W chart.

I really enjoyed that record and discovered that my dad liked the “rockabilly” sound of Johnny Cash.  He was one of his favorites.  Like any record buyer of the day, of course I flipped the record over and discovered another great hit…”COME IN STRANGER”.  The single charted on the Top 100 at #66 and on the C&W chart it became a Top 10 hit…charting at #6.  The picture sleeve was a dark cover, with Johnny Cash sitting on a stool…that record remains one of my favorite Johnny Cash singles…”Thanks Dad”…Johnny’s probably singing it for you in “Heaven”.

CLICK THE TITLE BELOW…JOHNNY CASH…IS WAITING TO SING HIS CLASSIC HITS FROM 1958…”GUESS THINGS HAPPEN THAT WAY”  AND  “COME IN STRANGER”

Guess Things Happen That Way

Come In Stranger

Till the next time—Joe

Leave a Reply

