FATS DOMINO–“I WANT TO WALK YOU HOME”/ “I’M GONNA BE A WHEEL SOME DAY”

FATS DOMINO…is an American treasure…he is one of the most successful recording artists of all-time.  He is a 1986 member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.  His hits are a songbook of the 1950s and 1960s.

In 1952 he charted his first Billboard R&B, #1 hit record…GOIN’ HOME on the Imperial Records label.  Fats would chart 9 #1 hits on the R&B chart.  His other #1’s include….AIN’T THAT A SHAME in 1955, ALL BY MYSELF-1955, POOR ME-1955, I’M IN LOVE AGAIN-1956…his classic recording of, BLUEBERRY HILL in 1956, BLUE MONDAY, in 1956 and I’M WALKIN’ in 1957.

On August 8, 1959 he would chart his final #1 hit single record…I WANT TO WALK YOU HOME.  The single remained on the R&B chart for 13 weeks and was #1 for one week.  Fats crossed over to the Billboard Hot 100 and charted his hit record in the Top 10, at #8.  The flip-side of the single, I’M GONNA BE A WHEEL SOME DAY, became a #22 hit on the Billboard R&B chart and a #17 hit on the Hot 100 chart.  Fats would chart 61 hit single records on the R&B chart along with his 77 hits on the Billboard Pop charts.

Fats Domino, a native of New Orleans, Louisiana is ranked at #1 on the Billboard R&B chart for the 1950s and #4 on the Pop chart for the same period.  Antoine “Fats” Domino was born on February 26, 1928.  He joined the Dave Bartholomew band in the mid-1940’s and signed a recording contract to Imperial Records in 1949.  It has been said that you like some singers and some you don’t like….but everybody loves Fats Domino.

CLICK THE TITLE BELOW TO HEAR FATS SINGING…”I WANT TO WALK YOU HOME”  AND  “I’M GONNA BE A WHEEL SOME DAY”.

I Want to Walk You Home

I’m Gonna Be a Wheel Someday

Till the next time—Joe  (Joe T.)

2 thoughts on “FATS DOMINO–“I WANT TO WALK YOU HOME”/ “I’M GONNA BE A WHEEL SOME DAY”

Leave a Reply

